This topic is for Managers and Admins on how to set up video consultations. For information on how to join and use video consultations, see here.

To set up video consultations for your organisation, you must have the Manager role on Heydoc, or have editing permissions for Products, Users, Location settings, and Appointment reminders. For more information on roles, see here.

To set up video consultations, you must do the following:

  1. Enable video consultations for a product

  2. Link the product to a practitioner

  3. Link the product to a location

  4. Enable confirmations and reminders


Enable video consultations for a product

First, you need to create or edit a product to have video consultations enabled, from the Products page in Heydoc.

When you are either on the create product page or edit product page, go to the Booking options section, and tick Is video consultation:

Remember to click Save from the top left-hand corner when you have finished creating or editing the product.


Link the product to a practitioner

When you have created or edited a product to have video consultations enabled, you must next link the product to a practitioner:

  1. Go to Settings, then the Users tab.

  2. Select the practitioner who you want to link the video consultation product to.

  3. Under Services provided, enable the product by ticking its box.

  4. Click Save in the top right-hand corner.

The video consultation product is now linked to that practitioner. You can link any number of practitioners to the product by following the same steps as above.


Link the product to a location

When you have created or edited a product to have video consultations enabled, and you have linked the product to a practitioner(s), you must then link the product to a location:

  1. Go to Settings, then the Locations tab.

  2. Select the location.

  3. Click on the more options icon next to the room you want to link the video consultation to, then Edit.

  4. Under Services provided, enable the product by ticking its box.

  5. Click Save in the top right-hand corner.

The video consultation product is now linked to that room. You can link any number of rooms to the product by following the same steps as above.


Enable confirmations and reminders

If you have completed all the above steps, users will now be able to book a video consultation.

However it is recommended that you enable confirmation and reminder emails for video consultations, so that patients definitely receive the joining link before their appointment:

  1. Go to Settings, then the Appointment reminder tab.

  2. Scroll down to the Video consultation confirmation email template, and switch on Send emails.

  3. Fill in the Email subject and Email body. For more information on how to write and customise an email template, see here.

  4. Make sure that somewhere in your template, you have inserted a Video link.

  5. When you have finished editing your template, click Save at the bottom of the page.

Now whenever you book a video consultation, the patient receives an email with all the information on how to join.

You can also activate reminders for video consultations, by following the same steps as above and editing the Email video consultation reminders template.

Did this answer your question?