This article is for clinicians and medical secretaries who want to learn how to add, edit, and delete consultation notes for appointments. For information on how to print and share consultation notes, see here.

In this article:


Create consultation notes

You can create consultation notes for a patient at any time:

  1. Go to the Patients page.

  2. Select the patient who you want to create a set of consultation notes for.

  3. Go to the Consultations tab.

  4. Click New.

  5. Select the type of consultation that these notes will refer to, and the date that the consultation took place.

  6. Choose whether you want to use a configured template for your notes. Select Free notes if you do not want to use a template.

  7. Fill out the consultation notes as you want. If you are doing Free notes, you can click the tags at the bottom to add another section to your notes. If you need to remove a section, you can click Delete record.

  8. Choose whether you want each section to show in the patient's summary page.

  9. Click Save at the bottom of the page.

The consultation notes appear in the patient's Consultations tab. Information from the consultation notes will also appear in the patient's Summary tab if you selected Show in summary for any of the sections that you filled out.


Edit consultation notes

Note: Your clinic must have consultation note editing enabled from your clinic's Medical settings. For more information, see here.

You can edit consultation notes from the Patients page:

  1. Select the patient who you want to edit.

  2. Go to the Consultations tab.

  3. Click the drop down arrow next to the consultation that you want to edit.

  4. Select Edit.

  5. Make the changes you want.

  6. Click Save at the bottom of the page.


Delete consultation notes

Note: Your clinic must have consultation note editing enabled from your clinic's Medical settings. For more information, see here.

You can delete consultation notes from the Patients page:

  1. Select the patient who you want to edit.

  2. Go to the Consultations tab.

  3. Click the drop down arrow next to the consultation that you want to edit.

  4. Select Delete.

  5. Click Delete to confirm.

The consultation note is deleted from the patient's record.

Did this answer your question?